Word Central

Open Mic Poetry and Spoken Word

Hosted by Tony Curry

 

Presented by Flapjack Press & Manchester Libraries

 

Live Streaming during COVID-19 on Word Central’s Facebook Page

We will return to Manchester Central Library when it's safe to do so

 

Next event:
Thurs 11th March, 7.30pm

With special guest poet Paul Cookson

 

Paul Cookson was brought up near Preston, and now lives in Retford, Notts. He has worked as a poet since 1989, performing in schools and libraries, and at literature festivals and events across the world. As well as being Poet-in-Residence for The National Football Museum and Everton in the Community, he is Writer-in-Residence for Sing Together and Poet Laureate for Slade. Paul has more than sixty titles to his name and over a million book sales, and with a quarter of a million copies sold, the anthology The Works has become a teacher’s ‘poetry Bible’. His COVID-19 Poetry Diaries, Fighting Talk and Can of Worms, are available from Flapjack Press.

 

You can book your open mic slot from Noon on Tuesday 2nd March via mail@flapjackpress.co.uk

 

NB Open mic slots are 3 minutes maximum

Performance slots are allocated on a 'first come first served' basis from the stated booking day

If they are already filled you will be offered a space on the reserve list

 

Word Central Facebook Group | Twitter: @WordCentralMcr | Library Live

You can catch up with recordings of recent events on the Word Central Facebook page

 

Future dates:
Thurs 15th April with special guest Louise Fazackerley (book from noon on 8 Apr)
Tues 4th May with special guest Gus Jonsson (book from noon on 27 Apr)
Thurs 3rd June - 5th Anniversary Special
Thurs 8th July with special guest Tony Kinsella
Thurs 5th August
Thurs 2nd September
Thurs 14th October [tbc]
Thurs 11th November
Thurs 2nd December

 

Previous events and guest poets:

 

Elizabeth McGeown    Emma Decent Pete Ramskill Michael Wilson Henry Normal  Gordon Zola                                                

Slayt1.jpg