Reading this story...
It is, of course, perfectly acceptable and appropriate to read this story by yourself. However, it would also be a really good idea to share Colourquest with family, friends, reading groups, theatre groups, school groups - any groups you can get together really. Reading out loud with others is such a healthy pastime, maybe even better than chocolate ... maybe.

"Colourquest is a story for colour seekers of all ages and cultures to share. However you read it, I hope you enjoy it." - A.K. McAllister


Colourquest by A.K. McAllister
Colourquest
children's prose & show adaptation, ages 8+
ISBN 978-0-9955012-3-2 | 180pp | 2017
rrp £9.99 NOW £7.99 | ebook £5.99 

paypal
amazon
kindle
Kobo

A curse has been imposed on the land of Chromatia by The Shadowfolk: all colours, apart from black and white, have been taken from the world.
Frustrated by the curse and the wall surrounding their home in Monotown, two children, Talia and Aaron, agree to go on a dangerous adventure - a fantastic quest to solve the riddle of The Puzzlestone, unravel the mystery of the three circles, recover the stolen Heartstone, and bring back colour to their world...

A story for all the family to share. Suitable to be read from age 8 and perfect to read to younger children.

"Fans of Lord of the Rings and Labyrinth will enjoy this excellent story. Pitched perfectly for the family ... Colourquest is an engaging tale for kids of all ages" - Salford Star

Amazon 5-star reviews:
"Fantastic fun."
"Great story and a great book!"
"Thoroughly enjoyed this read and highly recommended."

Episode 1: Monotown [excerpt]
from Colourquest © A. K. McAllister, 2016

The townfolk of Monotown are doing their chores, white-washing houses, painting black fences white or white fences black, hanging out washing on their Zebra-striped washing lines or sitting indoors watching their monochrome television sets. In the centre of the town is a signpost that would inform visitors, if there ever were any visitors, that they have entered MONOTOWN. Below the town's name are signs pointing in all directions to 'THE WALL'. Ma Rooke is standing at the signpost. She begins to sing, and gradually the people of the town join in with her ...

Ma Rooke - This land we will no longer call our land...
until it is free from this terrible curse,
we live in a world that has only two colours,
black and white,
and people from our town are disappearing.
This curse has been imposed by the evil Shadowfolk,
some of us are strong and willing to fight
but how do you fight against shadows?
Some of us will never surrender,
we will never compromise,
our motto is, together we are stronger.
We'll fight, oh yes we'll fight,
our motto is
be bold but be wise, together we are stronger,
be bold but be wise, together we are stronger...

Talia and Aaron are playing draughts in a field. Talia jumps her counters backwards on the board, then over every other counter on the board, regardless of their colour and in whatever direction she chooses, before proclaiming herself victorious.

Talia - I win.
Aaron - You broke the rules so you can't win.
Talia - Whose rules?
Aaron - Whose rules? The rules. The rules of the game. You can't win unless you play by the rules, Tal.
Talia - (Laughing as she gets up and starts walking away) Anyway I'm bored with draughts. Let's walk down to the river. Or are there rules against that as well?

Aaron puts the draughts and board back in his mini games compendium, places the box in his rucksack, and catches up with Talia.
As they make their way the blackbirds and the whitebirds are swooping down onto Black Ink River, the black and white geese march their fluffy little goslings in single file along the riverbank like a mobile zebra crossing. It is a calm and peaceful day and Talia is humming to herself as she approaches a beautiful apple tree. She picks two juicy moonlight white apples and a third one just falls off its branch, straight into her hands.

Aaron - That's strange.
Talia - What's strange?
Aaron - This apple tree. I've never noticed it before...

And so the adventure begins...

Cover art & illustrations by the author.

Flapjack Press: exploring the synergy between performance and the page.